Assurance

Talked to my mum 2 days ago while we were in the car on the way to church. I shared with her my worries about entering social work, about how I was looking at the SIM graduate diploma in social work course, but that they required applicants to have at least 2 years work experience in the sector first. I felt quite discouraged because that meant I had to work 2 years first (and I have no idea how to go about looking for work there with no qualifications whatsoever) before going back to school. Then my mum told me that before she conceived me, she actually prayed that if it was God’s will that she have another child, she would dedicate that child to His work, and that she felt very heartened when I first told her couple weeks ago that I wanted to enter social work. I think after talking to her, I felt a lot more convicted and encouraged. Maybe this is God’s way of assuring me that I’m doing the right thing, that I should just simply wait.

The past few days, my brother has been playing a Corrinne May CD in the car, and even thought the song isn’t included in that particular album, but the words of “Five Loaves and Two Fishes” just kept ringing in my head for some reason

Take my five loaves and two fishes
Do with it as you will
I surrender

Take my fears and my inhibitions
All my burdens, my ambitions
I hope it’s not too small

Father God, I may not have much to offer, but I pray that you will use me and what little that I have to do your work. Amen.

Leave a Reply

